CTI : History and mission

The Commission des titres d’ingénieur (CTI) was established by Law in 1934 (French Education Code, Article L.642-2 and following). In France, the CTI is the relevant body in charge of carrying out evaluation procedures that lead to the accreditation of the institutions to award the engineering degree “titre d’ingénieur diplômé”.

The various missions of the CTI have evolved over the years, and currently include:

  1. Periodic evaluation of all engineering programmes offered by French higher education institutions across the country, that leads to the accreditation of the institutions to award the engineering degree.
    The CTI is responsible for accreditation decisions for private institutions and those run by Chambers of Commerce; it issues recommendations to the relevant ministries for public owned higher education institutions.
    On request and subject to the support of the relevant authorities in the host countries, the CTI can also carry out evaluation procedures of engineering programmes provided by French institutions abroad, in order to extend the accreditation to the foreign site.
  2. On request of the institutions and relevant governments, evaluation of engineering programmes run by foreign higher education institutions. The positive outcome of a CTI procedure may lead to the recognition of these degrees within France (‘‘Admission par l’Etat’’). This recognition is granted by the French Ministry of Higher Education.
  3. Defining the generic profile of the engineer at master’s level and drawing up criteria and procedures for awarding the engineering degree and for carrying out the CTI’s missions. The CTI thus contributes to the continuing development of engineering education, adapting it to the needs of industry and society as a whole.
  4. Issuing opinions on all topics regarding the French engineering education.
    These “historical” missions have been extended with the increasing internationalisation of higher education and with the establishment of the European Higher Education Area, in which the CTI plays a role in its areas of proficiency (engineering education and quality assurance). Thanks to its recognition by bodies such as the European Association for Quality Assurance in Higher Education (ENQA) or the European Quality Assurance Register (EQAR), the CTI has become the main player in implementing the Bologna Process within French engineering schools.
  5. Developing a quality assurance culture within French engineering schools and the CTI itself, in line with the Standards and Guidelines for Quality Assurance in the European Higher Education Area (ESG) adopted by the Ministers of Higher Education of the European Higher Education Area. In this context, the CTI cooperates with other French and international quality assurance agencies, either under bilateral agreements (for example with ABET, AEQES, AAQ, Hcéres, IEAQA and others) or in networks such as FrAQ-Sup, ECA and ENAEE.
  6. Any actions to promote the academic and professional recognition of the French engineering degree. Since the engineering profession is not regulated in France and there is no institution of chartered engineers, the CTI is the natural point of contact for foreign engineering bodies (often in coordination with IESF, Ingénieurs et Scientifiques de France). The CTI is a member of various European and international networks and associations, and in this capacity has signed co-operation and mutual recognition agreements with other quality assurance agencies.
  7. Evaluation of French and foreign engineering programmes in order to award quality labels. The CTI is a founding member of the European Network for Accreditation of Engineering Education (ENAEE) and is authorized to award its European quality label for engineering degree programmes EUR-ACE® (master’s level). The CTI is also a member of the European Consortium for Accreditation (ECA) and is involved in awarding its Certificate for Quality in Internationalisation (CeQuInt). With its French and Chinese partner organisations (Haut Conseil de l’évaluation de la recherche et de l’enseignement supérieur (Hcéres) and China Education Association for International Exchange – CEAIE) CTI is currently setting up a quality label for Chinese-French Institutes, jointly awarded by the three agencies.

For more information, download the leaflet

Histoire et missions de la CTI

La CTI est un organisme indépendant, chargé par la loi française depuis 1934 d’évaluer toutes les formations d’ingénieur, de développer la qualité des formations, de promouvoir le titre et le métier d’ingénieur en France et à l’étranger.

Télécharger la plaquette de la CTI

Au fil des années, les missions de la CTI ont évolué et comprennent aujourd’hui :

1. L’évaluation périodique de toutes les formations d’ingénieurs des établissements français sur le territoire national en vue de leur accréditation à délivrer un titre d’ingénieur diplômé. La CTI est décisionnaire pour l’accréditation des établissements privés et consulaires ; elle rend des avis aux ministères compétents pour les établissements de statut public.

Sur demande et sous réserve de l’appui des autorités compétentes du pays d’accueil, la CTI peut également évaluer les formations des écoles françaises sur un site implanté à l’étranger en vue de l’extension de l’accréditation au site à l’étranger.

2. A la demande, l’évaluation de formations d’ingénieurs d’établissements étrangers. L’avis résultant de l’évaluation, sur demande des gouvernements concernés, peut notamment donner lieu à la reconnaissance (« Admission par l’État ») de ces diplômes et titres en France. Celle-ci est formulée par le ministre français en charge de l’enseignement supérieur.

3. La définition du profil générique de l’ingénieur de niveau master et l’élaboration des critères et procédures nécessaires à la délivrance du titre d’ingénieur et à l’accomplissement des missions de la CTI. La CTI contribue ainsi à l’évolution continue des formations d’ingénieurs et à leur adaptation aux besoins des entreprises et de la société en général.

4. La formulation d’avis sur toutes questions concernant les titres d’ingénieur diplômé.
Ces missions «historiques» se sont élargies avec l’ouverture internationale et la création de l’espace européen de l’enseignement supérieur au sein duquel la CTI intervient dans ses domaines propres (formations d’ingénieurs et assurance qualité). La CTI, notamment du fait de sa reconnaissance par des organismes comme l’European Association for Quality in Higher Education (ENQA) ou l’European Quality Assurance Register (EQAR), est devenue l’acteur privilégié pour la mise en oeuvre du processus de Bologne au sein des écoles d’ingénieurs françaises.

5. Le développement d’une culture d’assurance qualité au sein des écoles françaises et de la CTI elle-même, conformément aux Standards and guidelines for quality assurance in the European higher education area (ESG) adoptés par les Ministres de l’enseignement supérieur des 48 pays participant à l’espace européen de l’enseignement supérieur. Dans ce contexte, la CTI coopère avec d’autres agences d’assurance qualité françaises et internationales, soit par des accords bilatéraux (ABET, AEQES, AAQ, Hcéres, CCN-IUT, CEFDG, CIEP, IEAQA, …) soit dans le cadre de réseaux tels que FrAQ-Sup, ECA, ENAEE, …

6. Toutes actions qui oeuvrent en faveur de la reconnaissance académique et professionnelle du titre d’ingénieur diplômé français. Du fait qu’en France la profession d’ingénieur n’est pas réglementée (pas d’ordre des ingénieurs), la CTI est l’interlocuteur naturel des instances professionnelles étrangères d’ingénieurs (souvent en coordination avec Ingénieurs et Scientifiques de France – IESF). La CTI est membre de réseaux et associations européennes et internationales et a signé dans ce cadre des accords de coopération et de reconnaissance mutuelle avec d’autres agences d’assurance qualité.

7. L’évaluation de formations d’ingénieurs françaises et étrangères en vue de l’attribution de labels qualité. La CTI est membre fondateur de l’European Network for Accreditation of Engineering Education (ENAEE) et délivre le label européen de qualité des formations d’ingénieurs EUR-ACE® (niveau master) de cet organisme. La CTI est également opérateur de l’European Consortium for Accreditation (ECA) pour l’attribution du label Certificate for Quality in Internationalisation (CeQuInt) au niveau des formations d’ingénieur. Avec ses partenaires français (Hcéres) et chinois (China Education Association for International Exchange – CEAIE), la CTI participe à la création d’un label qualité des Instituts franco-chinois, délivré conjointement par les 3 agences.